Day One/All About Steve Review

20 Feb

So I tried this once before, but at the urging of a friend I’m giving it another shot.  I love writing and I especially love writing about the things I’m passionate about.  Movies, TV, books and even some good gossip are the things I enjoy. 

My goal is to have fun with this and send my opinions out to those who want to hear them.  Let’s not waste any more time and start this off with my first movie review!!

 ALL ABOUT STEVE

Starring: Sandra Bullock, Bradley Cooper, Thomas Hayden Church

Let me start off by saying that often times I watch movies that either get poor reviews or I just know are going to be pretty bad.  I do this because I like to see what’s out there.  Whether I make it through the entire thing is a whole other topic.  I knew “Steve” didn’t do well at the Box Office, but I’m a fan of the actors so I figured I’d give it a shot.

I hate to say it, but it was so much worse than I thought it would be.  Bullock’s character was laughable and not in a good way.  Her mannerisms were just annoying to watch.  None of the other characters irritated me in the way her’s did.  I realize her character was supposed to be “off” a bit, but it didn’t make me care about her. 

The story was just not there for this film.  The situations were not believable and nothing really flowed for me.  I like the idea of Bullock and Cooper together in a film, but I wasn’t feeling the connection with these two.  I know the story is about her basically stalking him, but any two characters in a story must have a level of chemistry to make it believable…even if that chemistry is based on hatred.

Even some of the other actors in the film who I am normally a fan of, disappointed me.  DJ Qualls and Ken Jeong just seemed out-of-place in this movie.  I’m a big fan of Bullock’s, but I wonder who thought it was a good idea to make this movie?

 

Leave a Reply

