Saw VI Review

20 Feb

Saw VI 

Starring: Tobin Bell, Costas Mandylor

When does a franchise decide enough is enough?  I wrote a tweet yesterday as I was watching this movie basically asking that same question.  I know what the movie is about, it hasn’t changed in its previous five incarnations. 

The premise is simple, a man thinks he can bring justice to an unjust world by brutally murdering the people he feels have lived unjustly.  Oh and he makes a game out of it, giving those aforementioned people a shred of hope that they will be able to escape whatever contraption they happen to be in or around.

I still think the first Saw was the best.  It was unknown then; the plot was interesting and the story was filled with confusion and excitement.  I mean who can forget the guy from The Princess Bride (Cary Elwes) trying to saw his own leg off? 

Bell still remains one of the creepiest characters I can think of.  That voice haunts me in my dreams after having watched one of the “Saw” movies.  Unfortunately, that’s about as much praise as I can give an actor in one of these movies.  With each new film comes a group of lesser known actors. 

I’m all for studios making money and I even understand the necessity of some sequels.  However, when do you just say, “OK, I think this will be the end of the road for Jigsaw?”  If history is any indication, we will be seeing new and (hopefully)improved versions for the next twenty years. (i.e. Friday the 13th, Nightmare on Elm Street)

Leave a Reply

