Do Celebrities Have A Responsibility To Help Out More When A National Disaster Strikes?

22 Feb

It has been a little over a month since the tragic earthquake occurred in Haiti.  Although the news has died down from the constant loop that was shown in the beginning weeks, I started to think about all of the benefits and concerts that have taken place.

George Clooney organized the successful, Help for Haiti.  Should other celebrities be obligated to do such things?  I know that there are many actors and musicians out there who give back to their communities and give of their time and money, even when there isn’t a national disaster taking place.  That isn’t a given though. 

After the news of Haiti, it was announced that many celebrities were giving large sums of money – usually in the one million dollar range- but what about those famous folks who have more than enough money to spare, but only give $250,ooo?  Is that considered cheap?  I don’t know what to think about this.  I’ll admit that I heard Madonna was one of the people to give the lesser amount, whereas someone like Tiger Woods donated somewhere in the three million dollar range.  Why such a large difference?

I understand that there are different levels of celebrity, but is there a specific etiquette for these types of situations?  My finances aren’t anywhere near the same ballpark as some of these celebs, but I still give and as much as I possibly can.  If I had the money that some of these people do, I would be one of the more generous I’d like to think. 

There isn’t a right or wrong answer to this question, but it’s just some food for thought.  Do other people have a right to comment on the charitable contributions of others….especially when the finances of those people are widely known?

Leave a Reply

