Not Your American Idol

23 Feb

American Idol kicked off the first week of its live episodes tonight.  Tonight was all about the Top 12 girls.  I was not impressed for the most part. 

The majority of the girls were not original and Simon Cowell made sure to let them know it.  There were a minimum of three girls who were told they were terrible tonight and not only by Cowell.  Randy Jackson was also not afraid to say what he thought of tonight’s performances.

I am mixed on how I thought Ellen DeGeneres did on her first live show.  I liked that she remained a positive, upbeat judge for the most part, but she mentioned on more than one occasion that she was unsure of some of the technical aspects of the performances.  Nobody thought she’d be able to critique based on a technical level, as she is not a singer, but by stating her inexperience, she made it more visible than it would have been otherwise.  I’m a huge DeGeneres fan and I’m sure she had some nerves herself tonight, so I’ll hold off a few weeks in making a final judgment on her addition to the judges panel.

Now on to the contestants.  I never understood why they put the 16-year old Haeley Vaughn through to the Top 24.  Tonight proved my point; what on earth was she doing up there?  Why put her through and get rid of Angela Martin, only to tell her on Ellen’s daytime show that they were going to get her a record deal?  Out of the Top 12 girls, I really only liked one or two of them.  Katelyn Epperly was good, but I don’t have a good feeling that she will remain consistent.  I want to root for Didi Benami, so I hope she starts doing better.  Lastly, I want to like Crystal Bowersox, but she really looks like she hates being there and that Idol is below her.  Anyone else agree?

Tomorrow the game begins again with the Top 12 guys.  I’m hoping I see some potential for a real ‘American Idol.’  I saw Michael Lynche in the boys crew, but had been hearing for weeks that he was being booted for a breach in the confidentiality agreement.  Unless they pull a switcheroo between tonight and tomorrow, I guess those sources were way off.

5 Responses to “Not Your American Idol”

  1. Cricut cartridges March 8, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    I will admit that American Idol is getting a little boring but I still like it because it is an “easy” watch for me.

  2. Traci Hockenberry March 6, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    This is a really nice blog you got here. The theme is great! Color combination is awesome.

  3. Carrie February 24, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    I really like her, so I figured it would work. Now, I’m not so sure. But like I said, I’ll give it a few weeks and see how it goes.

  4. Stacey February 24, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    I didn’t care so much for Ellen’s first real night of judging. I agree with you that she kept repeating her inexperience and that was just silly! I have to admit, I haven’t been too sure about her being on the show since it was announced that she would be!

Leave a Reply

