Guys vs. Girls: Idol Edition

24 Feb

Tonight it was time to see if the Top 12 guys had what it took to impress the American Idol viewers. 

Overall, I was not thoroughly impressed.  However, I will say that I was more entertained and had a better feeling about this group of singers compared to the ladies’ show last night.  I will say, like I said about the girls, that I understand it’s the first live week, but c’mon on now. 

Idol is now in its ninth season, which means that everyone out there knows what it takes to shine in this world of criticism and glory.  The guys tried too hard in my opinion; there were lots of runs and trying to outshine the one before him.  I did see a lot of potential though.  I definitely didn’t feel that way last night with the Top 12 girls.

As a Chicagoan, I was happy to see that three of the contestants hailed from my area.  I’m a fan of Lee Dewyze; he didn’t do exceptionally well tonight, but I love the raspy tone in his voice.  I actually like John Park too; he’s got a real richness to his voice.  But what the hell was he thinking with his song choice?  “God Bless the Child” is a song that should be sung by women with that powerhouse vocal.  I have a couple other guys that I will keep in the back of my mind (Casey James, Andrew Garcia) as could-be favorites.

Of course we have to discuss who I didn’t care for too.  I can’t jump on the Aaron Kelly train.  Sure, he’s got the David Archuletta thing going on, but he’s not a star.  Alex Lambert can lose the wanna-be mullet any time now.  I am not a fan of Michael Lynche either.  While watching his performance, I felt like I was sitting in a hotel listening to the wedding singer.

Usually when the Top 24 gets narrowed down to the Top 12, that’s when things really start heating up.  I’m really counting on that.  In interviews, Simon Cowell has said he feels like this is the year for a female winner.  I’m going to go out on a limb and disagree.  I’ve got the next three months to change my mind.

2 Responses to “Guys vs. Girls: Idol Edition”

  1. Invisible Mikey February 28, 2010 at 12:01 am #

    If “God Bless the Child” needs to be sung by a female with a powerhouse voice, how did Billie Holiday (with her barely an octave range) manage to do the original?

    The problem with everything on American Idol is the emphasis on technique over authenticity, and its consistent suppression of any form of originality. Singing cover tunes just proves you would be good at a karaoke bar, or that you will be an obedient slave to vanilla records, inc.

    • Carrie February 28, 2010 at 12:09 am #

      I think there is a big difference between Billie Holiday’s version and John Park’s. Maybe I mispoke about the powerhouse comment, but that’s how I’m used to hearing it these days. Holiday’s version had feeling and emotion behind it compared to Park.
      I will agree to the lack of originality to a degree. With the lack of original songs, when a record comes out and it’s not a pop genre like they heard on the show, listeners are inevitably disappointed. Take Adam Lambert: he was praised up and down last season, but his sales aren’t anything to write home about.

Leave a Reply

