The Blah Of Lady Gaga

25 Feb

I won’t be surprised if I get a lot of flack for what I’m about to say, but I’m okay with that.  I like Lady Gaga‘s music, but cannot stand her fashion.

Take this picture taken at the Grammy Awards.  She is holding the a death star in one hand, being circled by the rings of Jupiter and I don’t even have words for the shoes.  Look, I know I am not the most fashion forward of people, but I just don’t get how these things constitute good fashion choices.

Everyone is praising her for being a beacon of fashion, but why?  She wears costumes made out of Kermit the Frog’s puppet heads and large plastic shaped bubbles. 

Her image is part of what makes her popular though.  In the music industry or any entertainment industry really, you need to stand out.  She has taken standing out into a whole new stratosphere.  I’ve seen a couple photos of her au naturel and I’ve got to say she looks a thousand times better than the whatever outrageous personality she chooses to take on.

I was listening to the radio yesterday and some DJ was talking about her and her keen fashion sense; I wanted to scream.  I understand that some people take fashion as being an expression of art, but what happens when it becomes more laughable than commendable?

6 Responses to “The Blah Of Lady Gaga”

  1. Tina March 12, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    I think she dresses so randomly because she is drawing attention away from her looks. Without all that makup and mask, she is not attractive and probably feels like she needs something else to stand out. I love her music and just wish she had the courage to be confident enough to go natural without costume, hair dye, and lots of makeup.

    • Carrie March 12, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

      I don’t think that’s why she does it, but it is a good point. On that same note though, Madonna isn’t a supermodel either and she went a little crazy with her outfits back in the day. I think aside from the music, she is popular because of how she dresses and everything. Every artist goes through phases and if she has legs to stick around, I’m sure we’ll see something else eventually.

  2. Invisible Mikey February 28, 2010 at 12:20 am #

    No argument from me. However I think LaGaga’s quite aware of the difference between costume and fashion, even if those interviewers aren’t. She does it for max impact, and she gets coverage. She’s using the Madonna business plan.

    • Carrie February 28, 2010 at 9:28 am #

      Oh, I absolutely think she knows what she’s doing. The Madonna comparison is pretty dead on, just taken up a few notches. Regardless of the reason for the costumes/fashion, I just don’t like them.

  3. Carrie February 26, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    There are some other songs I like, but she was so successful with just a few hit tracks that it doesn’t even matter if the others weren’t so good. (From an industry/financial standpoint)

  4. fix red ring of death February 26, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    I dont like her. My friends love her songs, but thats probably cause they havent heared her whole album. Apart from poker face and just dance i thought it was pretty crap

Leave a Reply

