Early Movie Memories

28 Feb

I find it fascinating what things people remember and find entertaining about movies.  There are so many different genres and methods of acting that I started thinking about what movies people are able to recall watching in their childhoods.  Did it leave a lasting memory or is there another reason you remember it?

I can’t remember the very first movie I ever watched, but I can remember the first few movies I ever saw in a theater.  They couldn’t be more different, but they are still as clear as day to me.  The first movie was Spaceballs.  I was eight years old when it came out and some close family friends took my brother and me to see it with their family.  I clearly remember them being mortified that they brought young children to see this movie.  They didn’t have much to worry about with me, because I had no clue what was going on.  When I saw the movie at a later age, it was so great, because I got the innuendos and references to the movie it was a parody of: Star Wars.  I love when that light goes on; there have been so many movies I didn’t get the first time around, but when reintroduced to them it’s a whole different story.

The second movie I remember seeing was Rainbow Brite and The Star Stealer.  Talk about a 180, right?  My mom took a group of me and my friends to the movie for my birthday party when I was in kindergarten or first grade.  My closest friend, who was a member of that movie-going group, still often reminds me of going to see that movie.  It’s odd the things people remember sometimes.

I don’t think it matters what the movie is, whether it’s animated or live action or whether you even liked it.  The point is remembering the time film came into your life and the memories associated with it.  Both of my movie going experiences happened before the age of ten and I am now thirty.  The memories haven’t lessened at all in the twenty plus years since I saw either of them.

Leave a Reply

