Oscar Week Feature: Original Screenplay

1 Mar

Every day this week, leading up to Sunday’s 82nd Academy Awards, I am going to highlight a particular category and the nominees involved.  In some categories, I may not have seen all the films.  In that case, I will discuss and make my pick for winner accordingly.  Today I will focus on the Original Screenplay Nominees. 

*Mark Boal – The Hurt Locker
*Quentin Tarantino – Inglourious Basterds
*Allesandro Camon & Oren Moverman – The Messenger
*Joel Cohen & Ethan Coen – A Serious Man
*Bob Peterson, Pete Docter/
Story by: Pete Docter, Bob Peterson, Tom McCarthy – Up

 

I have seen three of the five movies listed here.  I have seen enough Coen films though, to have a fairly good idea of their writing style and abilities.  Screenplays are obviously about the creativity and movement of words.  Based on that, I’d have to eliminate Mark Boal.  I thought The Hurt Locker was fantastic, but I don’t think it’s worth of this prize.  There is no way that the team from Up have a chance at this award and I would argue against anyone who thinks otherwise.  The Coen’s are incredible writers and always brings something new and weirdly different to each film they write.  I don’t think enough people have seen this movie though.  I honestly don’t know much about the writers from The Messenger, so I can’t really comment on them. 

That brings me to the man I think deserves this award: Quentin Tarantino.  Tarantino’s movie is so well written and original that it almost doesn’t need any other words.  He is a one of a kind director and writer; only he would be able to write something so brave.  Writing can be subjective and critiques on it can be even more so.  I don’t know of anyone that can say Tarantino didn’t knock this script out of the park.

My Pick: Quentin Tarantino

3 Responses to “Oscar Week Feature: Original Screenplay”

  1. Christopher March 1, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    Gosh, Carrie. You really prodded me with this post. Thanks for sharing your thoughts…

    Personally, I feel BASTERDS was a highly immoral script (and film). I fully realize morality is subjective, though I hope most voting members of the academy will share my position. The script is the heart of every film and this film advocated murder and torture, something no one deserves, even murders and torturers themselves!

    Though immensely witty and suspenseful, I am hoping the voters will bypass BATERDS due to its lack of humanity.

    One last thought: yes, I believe you can depict evil in a film; however, I have a problem when the evil is ensconced in coolness, something Tarantino is the master at. Gees, he even hosted SNL!

    • Carrie March 1, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

      Although I might not completely agree with you, I think the way you phrased your opinions was fantastic. I actually like the idea of my posts creating conversation. Things become more interesting when you look at all the different sides.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oscar Week Feature: Adapted Screenplay « Carrie's Calling… - March 2, 2010

    […] Jump to Comments We’ve reached day two of my Oscar week breakdown.  As I said yesterday, I’m discussing some of the top categories and nominees.  In today’s installment, […]

Leave a Reply

