Revealed: Dancing With The Stars Cast

1 Mar

Earlier tonight, ABC announced the top eleven dancers to be featured on the next installment of Dancing With The Stars.  The cast consists of athletes, actors, reality stars and journalists.  Those competing for the mirrorball trophy will be:

Pamela Anderson                                  Chad Ochocinco
Niecy Nash                                               Buzz Aldrin
Shannen Doherty                                  Evan Lysacek
Erin Andrews                                        Aiden Turner
Nicole Scherzinger                             Jake Pavelka
Kate Gosselin

 

The cast of eleven has dwindled down from the last installment of Dancing, which topped out at sixteen contestants.  I am confused about some of the choices for this new season, but we’ll get into that.  Let’s start with the ladies.

Pam Anderson– This had been rumored for weeks, so it wasn’t a big surprise to hear her name.  She hasn’t done much lately that has garnered positive praise, so I bet she’s hoping this is a step in a better direction.  I can’t wait to see how they fit her, um, breasts into these dancer dresses.

Niecy Nash– I don’t know too much about her, as I haven’t seen Reno 911.  I have seen her do some hosting work on E!, so I expect her to be a little eccentric and willing to say how she feels.

Shannen Doherty– This is one celeb I cannot wait to see.  Not only does she have a rumored “wild child” past, but she could be a firecracker and a loose cannon.

Erin Andrews– I think she is only here because of her recent controversy with a peeping tom. 

Nicole Scherzinger– I feel like this show might be a step down for her.  Although, she did participate in NBC’s Sing Off, does she really need to be doing this?

Kate Gosselin– I will start by saying that this made me a little ill.  She has eight kids last time I checked and an ex-husband who is not around much.  Who is going to take care of these kids, who live in Pennsylvania, while mom is in California dancing?  I’m sure the show will find a way to pimp out the kids and get them on TV as much as possible.  She will have a fan base, but the public could be sick of her constant tabloid presence.

Now, on to the men.

Chad Ochocinco– This is going to be entertaining for sure.  He is not one to hold his tongue back and I could see some interesting situations taking place between him and the judges.  I’m thinking he’s going to need one of the tougher professional women to reign in his personality.

Buzz Aldrin– He is the token older man.  He’ll have a built-in rooting audience, I think.

Evan Lysacek– Fresh off his gold medal from the Vancouver Olympics last week, he might have a new fan base to help push him along.  He’s still relatively unknown though.

Aiden Turner– Following in the steps of his former All My Children castmates (Susan Lucci, Cameron Mathison), Turner will be the fourth soap opera contestant for the show.  He could be a wild card.

Jake Pavelka– He was the last cast member to be announced.  I was not thrilled with this decision.  I personally have no desire to see The Bachelor on Monday nights anymore after tonight.  There were so many other ways the show could have gone with this final pick.

Overall, I think the group of celebrities are pretty lackluster.  I hope to be proved wrong, but who knows.  Here’s to season 10 of DWTS…

3 Responses to “Revealed: Dancing With The Stars Cast”

  1. Tina March 2, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    LOVE THE CAST!!! It will actually make me watch it this season.

  2. Castor March 1, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Kate Gosselin? From Jon and Kate + 8??? Noooooooooooooo. I just puked a little in my mouth. Overt tactic to try to get a few more viewers 😦

    • Carrie March 1, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

      Oh yes. That Kate Gosselin.

Leave a Reply

