Oscar Week Feature: Adapted Screenplay

2 Mar

We’ve reached day two of my Oscar week breakdown.  As I said yesterday, I’m discussing some of the top categories and nominees.  In today’s installment, I’m going to look at the race for Best Adapted Screenplay.

*Neill Blomkamp &Terri Tatchell – District 9
*Nick Hornby – An Education
*Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell,
 Armando Iannucci,  Tony Roche – In the Loop
*Geoffrey Fletcher – Precious
*Jason Reitman & Sheldon Turner – Up in the Air

 

As I said last time, I haven’t seen all of these movies.  I will give an educated breakdown based on what I do know.  I saw District 9 and I just didn’t get it.  I know that some people felt this film was a completely new and different take on a typical alien-type movie, but I don’t see a winner here.  I haven’t seen An Education, but I hear that it was very well written.  For those who’ve seen it, what do you think stands out more: the writing or the acting?

The feeling of In the Loop’s nomination has been pretty straightforward across the board: surprise.  This would be my long shot pick; I don’t see it going anywhere.  I have yet to see Precious, but I have read the book.  If the film is anything close to what I read, I know I won’t be disappointed.  However, the words by Sapphire were so chilling that I can’t see it taking much to adapt them.

Up in the Air has been cleaning up in this category throughout the awards season.  I think it would be a shock if Reitman and Turner did not take this category.  Reitman is well-respected and comes from old Hollywood blood.  He is the son of Ivan Reitman, director of hits such as Animal House and Ghostbusters.

My Pick: Jason Reitman & Sheldon Turner

Leave a Reply

