The Time Traveler’s Wife Review

3 Mar

The Time Traveler’s Wife

Starring: Rachel McAdams, Eric Bana

This film is about the story of a young boy, Henry, who watches his mother die in a car accident.  After that experience, he is met by his much older future self.  He’s come to his child self to tell him that he is a time traveler, preparing him for what he will face the rest of his life.

Once Henry becomes a man, he meets Claire, played by the always enchanting Rachel McAdams.  The only problem is, Claire has known Henry since she was a little girl and he has no idea who she is.  The story continues to play out from there with Claire showing Henry that she was meant for him.  Over the course of the next fifteen years or so, the audience is witness to how Henry and Claire fight for a relationship that is shrouded in the unknown. 

I thought McAdams was wonderful in this role, but I just couldn’t be convinced with Bana.  I think McAdams could have chemistry with just about anyone, but I didn’t feel it entirely with these two.  In my opinion, she played the character so well that it didn’t even matter how Bana was lacking emotion.

This film is based on the wonderful book by Audrey Niffenegger.  I just recently started watching movies after I’ve read the book and I’m not sure I want to continue doing so.  I loved the book, even with the constant jumping from one time period to another.  I realize that books have hundreds of pages to flesh out characters and elaborate in scenes, but I would have been better off not having read the book since so many things were missing in the movie version.

I was waiting for certain events to take place and for certain characters from the book to show up.  I was disappointed when that didn’t happen.  In addition, the role of Henry’s father could have been beefed up a bit.  I understand the story is mainly about the two main characters, but I would liked to have seen a bit more from some of the other supporting characters.  I think more time could also have been spent on fleshing out the main characters more, similar to what is done in the book.

I’d recommend this movie.  It is a tear-jerker, so be prepared.  I’m curious to hear what others who’ve seen the movie have to say, especially if you have NOT read the book too.

2 Responses to “The Time Traveler’s Wife Review”

  1. Castor March 5, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    I thought it was a nice unpretentious romantic drama. It was a bit frustrating for me because you could see that the movie could have been a great epic romance instead of a merely good drama, with bolder direction and writing. McAdams carried the emotional weight of the movie but it’s odd that the movie was so much about Henry than Clare. Bana was fine albeit too mellow and one-note.

    What did you think about the ending which is different from the book?

    • Carrie March 5, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

      I don’t think there was enough conflict in the movie. The book had much more, especially with the character of Gomez. I felt there wasn’t much of a point to him being in the movie if they left out what made his character important in the book. I think if they would have stuck with the ending in the book, it could have that epic romance feel to it. I also think it would be kind of similar to the ending in The Notebook though. I know they’re very different, but that’s what I thought of.

Leave a Reply

