25th Independent Spirit Awards Details

4 Mar

The most relaxed and laid-back award show of the year marks its 25th anniversary tomorrow.  The Film Independent Spirt Awards, hosted by Eddie Izzard, will air Friday on IFC at 8pm/PT.

This award show, which used to be held on the beach, the night before the Oscars has moved to Friday evening in downtown Los Angeles.  17 awards will be given out throughout the evening, which celebrates achievement in independent filmmaking.  If you don’t have IFC, you can go to spiritawards.com to find out how you can watch the show.

Take a look at some of this year’s nominees and choose your favorites before tomorrow’s show.

Best Feature:                               Best Director:
-Sin Nombre                                    -James Gray – Two Lovers
-Precious                                          -Michael Hoffman – The Last Station
-The Last Station                          -Lee Daniels – Precious
-(500) Days of Summer             -Joel Coen & Ethan Coen – A Serious Man
-Amreeka                                         -Cary Joji Fukunaga – Sin Nombre
Best First Feature:
-The Messenger – Oren moverman, Mark Gordon, Lawrence Inglee,
                                  Zach Miller
-Easier With Practice  – Kyle Patrick Alvarez, Cookie Carosella
-Paranormal Activity – Oren Peli, Jason Blum
-Crazy Heart – Scott Cooper, Robert Duvall, Rob Carliner, Judy Cairo,
                             T-Bone Burnett
-A Serious Man – Tom Ford, Andrew Miano, Robert Salerno, Chris Weitz
Best Female Lead:
-Gwyneth Paltrow – Two Lovers
-Helen Mirren – The Last Station
-Gabourey Sidibe – Precious
-Maria Bello – Downloading Nancy
-Nisreen Faour – Amreeka
Best Male Lead:
-Jeff Bridges – Crazy Heart
-Souléymane Sy Savané – Goodbye Solo
-Colin Firth – A Single Man
-Adam Scott – The Vicious Kind
-Joseph Gordon-Levitt – (500) Days of Summer
Best Supporting Female:
-Samantha Morton – The Messenger
-Natalie Press – Fifty Dead Men Walking
-Dina Korzun – Cold Souls
-Mia Wasikowska – That Evening Sun
-Mo’Nique – Precious
Best Supporting Male:
-Christopher Plummer – The Last Station
-Woody Harrelson – The Messenger
-Raymond McKinnon – That Evening Sun
-Jemaine Clement – Gentlemen Broncos
-Christian McKay – Me and Orson Welles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: