Oscar Week Feature: Best Actress

4 Mar

Starting today, we have arrived at the beginning of the biggest awards for the Oscars.  Today, I’ll be taking a look at the race for Best Actress.  This category has been widely talked about this year; specifically the nomination of Sandra Bullock.

*Sandra Bullock – The Blind Side
*Helen Mirren – The Last Station
*Carey Mulligan – An Education
*Gabourey Sidibe – Precious
*Meryl Streep – Julie & Julia

 

I believe that Bullock is going to take this prize.  I’m not sure she is completely deserving of it though.  I saw her film and she was great in it, but I don’t know that it’s worthy of an Academy Award.  Sure, she did something different, but in comparison to some of the other nominees, I don’t think she is as strong. 

I haven’t seen Mirren’s film, but I’d say she is at the bottom of the list in terms of who has a chance to take this category.  Many people have said that Streep is Bullock’s stiffest competition, but I think Mulligan might just be a dark horse in this group.  She recently won the BAFTA lead actress prize, so it could be a shocker. 

I don’t think Sidibe has a chance, if only because of all the attention put on Bullock and Streep.  I think she probably is the most deserving of the five ladies.  She gives me the Jennifer Hudson vibe of a few years ago when she won for Dreamgirls.  This is her first acting job and it wasn’t some small role, it was meaty and dark and heartbreaking.

I honestly don’t know why Streep was even nominated this year.  I did not care for her film at all.  I get that she did a good impersonation of Julia Child, but I just don’t get how it’s Oscar worthy.  I think if she makes a movie a year, a spot is automatically reserved for her in this category.

Like I said, Bullock will take this category.  I would love to see an upset though.  Could you imagine if Sidibe came from nowhere to win?  I think that would be kind of beautiful.

My Pick: Sandra Bullock

Leave a Reply

