Oscar Week Feature: Best Picture

6 Mar

It’s the last day of my Oscar Week countdown and we’ve come to the biggest prize of all, Best Picture.  Ten nominees, but it really only comes down to two.  Who will it be: Avatar or The Hurt Locker?

*Avatar
*The Blind Side
*District 9
*An Education
*The Hurt Locker
*Inglourious Basterds
*Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire
*A Serious Man
*Up
*Up in the Air

 

Out of the ten nominees, I believe only five have a chance at actually winning.  I think you can eliminate District, Education, Blind Side, Up and Serious Man. 

As for the remaining five, I would rank them from one to five as The Hurt Locker, Avatar, Inglourious Basterds, Precious and Up in the Air.  You could easily say that this is a two-horse race exactly like the Best Director category.  The only dark horse would be Basterds.

I don’t care for the increase from five to ten for nominees in this category.  I understand the desire to have a wider arrange of movies; movies that people have actually seen, but it’s too cluttered now.

My Pick: The Hurt Locker

I am looking forward to seeing how my predictions pan out on Sunday’s live telecast of the 82nd Academy Awards.  I really hope to see some upsets as well.  There are so many people who are dead sure their pick is going to win, myself included, but that doesn’t always make for an entertaining show.

If you want to take a look at all my picks from this week, click below.

Best Adapted Screenplay  
Best Original Screenplay              
Best Supporting Actor   
Best Supporting Actress
Best Actor                                                
Best Actress
Best Director                                         
Leave a Reply

