Why does America keep sending the wrong ones home on American Idol and Dancing with the Stars?

31 Mar

I’m starting to get sick of my favorite reality shows.  Dancing with the Stars and American Idol have gotten off to rough starts in my opinion and this week’s results are only further proof of that.

Having America vote is a great idea, in theory, until they start keeping people around who have zero reason for being there.  Two days in a row, America sent the wrong person home and it destroys the credibility of what the shows are trying to achieve.

On Tuesday night, DWTS sent 90210 vixen Shannen Doherty packing.  The worst contestants, Buzz Aldrin and Kate Gosselin, weren’t even in the bottom two.  I can understand keeping Buzz around, as he’s seen as a national hero, but Kate was beyond awful.  In the nine previous seasons, I don’t recall anyone being as bad as she was on Monday night (and this includes Tucker Carlson and Kenny Mayne).  It is painful to watch her attempt to dance and she looks miserable every step of the way. 

Tonight on American Idol, the voters chose to send Didi Benami home.  This meant that once again, Tim Urban is left to compete.  What is it about this kid that has America keeping him in the competition?  He’s got Zac Efron looks and hair, an eternally optimistic outlook on his time on the Idol stage and doesn’t take any of the judges comments too seriously.  While those traits may be endearing, they don’t make someone worthy of a spot in the top 10.

I think it comes down to the drama.  It’s always more entertaining to watch someone crash and burn than it is to see them succeed.  Sure, it’s amusing to see Gosselin struggle and fight with her partner (just like she did with ex-hubby Jon on her old reality show), but she doesn’t even look like she’s happy to be there or having any fun at all.  Why send her home when you can watch her sulk and complain instead?

Idol is a whole different ballgame though.  None of these aspiring singers were famous before the show.  It’s supposed to be about finding someone who can make it in the music business.  Urban is not that person, not even close.  He’s not even doing something original or remarkable.  He’s basically a young guy who sings like he’s playing for people in an elevator.

Sure, maybe I’m being cynical, but I just want to see some good, healthy competition.  Whether someone is trying to win a recording contract or a mirrorball trophy, I want people who are in the hunt and not just spectators.  I’m not naive enough to think it will change anytime soon, but a girl can hope, right?

5 Responses to “Why does America keep sending the wrong ones home on American Idol and Dancing with the Stars?”

  1. Joy April 1, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    I was very sad that Shannon went home. Not because I’m a big fan or hers or anything but because like you said, she was NOT by far the one who deserved to go home. Now that you brought it up by why do they put 80 year olds on this show anyway? To knock them down and treat them crappy? Telling them how awful they are? I find it very disrespectful. I felt the same way when Cloris Leachman was on. They kept her week after week meanwhile sending people home who could really dance. There really should be an age limit like there is on Idol. There is no way and 80 year old can dance like a 30something and I feel it’s just mean and it’s not fair to the people who are doing it for real.

    • Carrie April 1, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

      I can kind of understand putting the older people on, because it then reaches another demographic, which then equals even more viewers. But after a week or so, it’s done being cute and it’s time to move on!

  2. Nikki April 1, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    I loved Didi from the beginning. I like Crystal Bowersox, however I find her a little arrogant. I think Urban should have gone a while ago! I like Lee DeWyze also.

    I don’t watch DWTS, but was curious to see how Kate did. I used to be a fan, int he early years of the show. She is not by any means a “star” though. Since when do reality stars compare to movie or TV stars??

    I like this blog! Thanks for stopping by ours, and I’ll be back here! 🙂 Have a great day Carrie!

    • Carrie April 1, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

      I think Crystal is good, but there isn’t anything ‘wow’ about her. Lee is by far my favorite. He’s got a little David Cook mixed with some Daughtry. This season is pretty bad overall though.

      I loved Jon/Kate Plus 8 when it was on, but once they became popular and their marriage started falling apart it became a joke. You should tune in to DWTS just to see her “dance.” She looks so miserable, it’s almost amusing 🙂

      Thanks for checking my blog out too!!

  3. Colleen March 31, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    Totally agree about Tim. Him making the top 10 (and getting to go on the tour) is crazy, considering the other contestants that have gone home before him. Didi definitely should have stayed another couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

