‘LOST: The End’ Review

24 May

Whew! Ok, so after that lengthy recap of Sunday night’s final LOST episode, I am ready to talk about what the heck it was all about.  I loved the finale.  I thought it was pure television excellence.  Of course, not all questions were answered and the finale produced even more questions, but what great storytelling from Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse.  To have 2 1/2 hours of a series finale include so much emotion and heart is just unbelievable.  I would love to talk to someone who didn’t shed at least one tear during the show.  I know I had the box of Kleenex next to me for the entire show and went through many.  I felt happy, but emotionally drained when it had all come to an end.  As a lover of television and film, I couldn’t ask for more. 

Sure, there will be those that are upset with the ending or the religious overtones that it produced, but the production value, acting performances and writing trump any personal frustration in my opinion. 

I truly think the show was about love and redemption.  The reunions proved the love factor and over the course of season 6, redemption seemed to be a driving force.  Ben helping Hurley in the end, Sayid’s self-sacrifice with the bomb and Jack risking everything to save the island are examples of that redemption.

Here are some of my questions, comments or random thoughts about the final episode:

*First off, where was Walt??  I get that the actor grew like 10 feet since the start of the series, but they could have found a way to incorporate him.  I was kind of disappointed about that, honestly.  I was waiting to see him at least in the church at the end, but nothing.

*Here are a couple of my favorite lines from the episode.  Ben was trying to walkie-talkie Miles to find out the status of the plane and Lapidus picks up the device and says, “Don’t bother me!”

After being given duct tape from Lapidus to fix something inside the plane, Miles says, “I don’t believe in a lot of things, but I do believe in duct tape.”  Obviously the characters of Miles and Lapidus brought some needed comedic relief to the finale.

*Michael Giacchino, the composer for LOST, did such a fantastic job of incorporating dramatic music to accompany the scenes.  Every reunion scene was made all the more emotional with the addition of the music in the background.  Well done!

*Why weren’t Miles, Lapidus and Richard in the church?  They were all “good” people, so why weren’t they included in the final group when Rose, Bernard and even Libby were?  I would have loved to see what happened to Richard after Miles found a gray hair on him.

*I’m curious as to why Ben didn’t go inside the church.  Was he not allowed to?  Did he feel he wasn’t redeemed enough to move on?  I actually felt badly for him, he looked so defeated in those final moments.

*I’ve been torn as to what the sideways world actually was and I think it was more of an in-between world.  I do get confused as to the logistics though.  I mean Jack’s son’s mother was….Juliet??  So at what point did that happen?  And does the sideways world mean that all of the flashbacks from earlier seasons weren’t real? 

*I tried not to take the last scenes as overly religious.  I get that they took place in a church and all, but I tried to look it as more of a faith thing than a religious one.  Faith vs. science had always been a running theme, so I’m going to leave it as faith winning out.

*I loved the appearance of Rose & Bernard in the jungle and at the end of the episode.  They were such beloved characters that it was rewarding to have the chance to see them again.

*Matthew Fox did an incredible job in this final episode.  The entire cast was brilliant, but Fox reached down and pulled out some incredible moments for his final time as Jack Shephard.

*I would have liked to see a final moment between Desmond & Penny, as they were one of the most touching and loving couples that came from LOST.  The appearance of them together at the end wasn’t enough for me.

I suppose I could go on forever about what this show was about, who should have been involved more and so on, but LOST has come to an end and it was a one of a kind television show.  LOST will stand the test of time and whether people try to duplicate it at some point remains to be seen, but it will always be six years of original, dramatic and entertaining art.

6 Responses to “‘LOST: The End’ Review”

  1. Oli October 23, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    “And does the sideways world mean that all of the flashbacks from earlier seasons weren’t real?”

    I appreciate your positive review, it was a magnificent end to the series… but what on earth are you thinking?? What do the flashbacks have to do with this? Bit of an ignorant thing to say…

  2. Eric June 2, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    I LOVED the finale of Lost. I agree with you. Yes, there were still a lot of questions left unanswered, but I think if they answered everything I wouldn’t want to re-watch the series as much as I do now. I was satisfied with the plot in just about every way imaginable. I can’t wait to see what the writers decide to come up with next down the road.

    Oh, and I think the whole “gray hair” thing with Richard is probably done now. If I remember correctly, the light was turned off in the island and that caused MIB’s powers to cease, so that probably caused Richard’s to stop as well. Once the light came back on, I think maybe Richard is still immortal.

  3. chris May 29, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    Juliet and ben weren’t on the plane either. I also thought it weird to include libby and not Miles, Rishard, and Frank…

    • Carrie May 30, 2010 at 9:34 am #

      Juliet was dead and Ben stayed on the island with Hurley.

  4. Cinematically-Correct May 25, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    My thinking is that only people from the plane were in the church. Well, except for Desmond & Penny, but if they weren’t there, my brain would have fallen out.

    You are so right about Matthew Fox. He was fantastic & will probably be completely overlooked for how good he was for the entire run of the series.

    • Carrie May 25, 2010 at 10:28 am #

      The plane theory could be right, but I don’t know, because then the Desmond, Penny thing couldn’t make sense. But many things don’t make sense 🙂

Leave a Reply

